Skip to main content

Contact Us

Our agency would like to hear from you. For information regarding the Secretary of State’s Office, please contact one of the Agency divisions listed below, or one of the offices of the Secretary of State.


Alabama Secretary of State
P.O. Box 5616
Montgomery, Alabama 36103-5616


View the full organizational chart

EXECUTIVE DIVISION
State Capitol Building - Suite S-105
600 Dexter Avenue
Montgomery, AL  36130   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-7200     

The Honorable John H. Merrill
Secretary of State
334-242-7200
John.Merrill@sos.alabama.gov
David A. Z. Brewer
Chief of Staff
334-242-7207
David.Brewer@sos.alabama.gov
John C. Bennett
Deputy Chief of Staff/ Press Secretary
334-242-4133
John.Bennett@sos.alabama.gov
Janice McDonald
Special Assistant
334-353-7854
Janice.McDonald@sos.alabama.gov
Brent Beal
Deputy Attorney General
334-353-7857
Brent.Beal@sos.alabama.gov
Hugh Evans, III
Assistant Attorney General
334-242-4298
Hugh.Evans@sos.alabama.gov
Stephanie Vaught
Executive Assistant/Scheduler
334-353-2171
Stephanie.Vaught@sos.alabama.gov
Bernard McCaster
Warehouse Manager 
334-265-7150
Bernard.McCaster@sos.alabama.gov
Brittany Hamilton
Elections Analyst
334-242-7205
Brittany.Hamilton@sos.alabama.gov
Tamara S. Cofield
Assistant to Finance Division
334-242-7228
Tamara.Cofield@sos.alabama.gov

COMMUNICATIONS AND MEDIA
State Capitol Building - Suite S-105
600 Dexter Avenue
Montgomery, AL  36130   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-7200     Fax: 334-242-4993

John C. Bennett
Deputy Chief of Staff/ Press Secretary
334-242-4133
John.Bennett@sos.alabama.gov
Jason Houston
Communications Director
334-353-7818
Jason.Houston@sos.alabama.gov

FINANCE DIVISION
State Capitol Building - Suite E-205
600 Dexter Avenue
Montgomery, AL  36130   Directions »
Phone: 334-353-2022     Fax: 334-242-2444

Renee' S. Reese (Senior Accountant)
Division Director
334-353-2022
Renee.Reese@sos.alabama.gov

ELECTIONS DIVISION
State Capitol Building - Suite E-208
600 Dexter Avenue
Montgomery, AL  36130   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-7210     Fax: 334-242-2444

Clay Helms
Asst. Director / Supervisor of Voter Registration
334-353-7177
Clay.Helms@sos.alabama.gov
Rachel Jarrett
Asst. to Asst. Director / Supervisor of Voter Registration
334-242-7559
Rachel.Jarrett@sos.alabama.gov
Ed Packard
Administrator of Elections
334-242-4845
Ed.Packard@sos.alabama.gov
Eugenia Stone
Elections Analyst
334-353-7903
Eugenia.Stone@sos.alabama.gov
Candace Payne
State Professional Trainee
334-242-3736
Candace.Payne@sos.alabama.gov
Tempest Cantrell
State Professional Trainee
334-242-0447
Tempest.Cantrell@sos.alabama.gov

INFORMATION SYSTEMS DIVISION
RSA Plaza - Suite 580
770 Washington Avenue
Montgomery, AL  36104   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-7222 

Anthony Powell
IT Systems Specialist
334-353-1566
Anthony.Powell@sos.alabama.gov
Adam Alexander
Programmer / Analyst
334-242-7536
Adam.Alexander@sos.alabama.gov

GOVERNMENT SUPPORT / AUTHENTICATIONS & TRADEMARKS
(Acts / Athlete Agents / Codes / Research Division)
Alabama State House - Suite 226
11 South Union Street
Montgomery, AL  36130  Directions »
Phone: 334-242-5325     Fax: 334-353-8993
Sport.Code@sos.alabama.gov

Shemekwa Farrow
Admin Support Asst III
334-242-7224
Shemekwa.Farrow@sos.alabama.gov
Karie Wilkerson
Assistant Division Director (Admin Support Asst III)
334-353-7747
Karie.Wilkerson@sos.alabama.gov
Judy Pickler
Admin Support Asst. II
334-353-7473
Judy.Pickler@sos.alabama.gov

BUSINESS SERVICES DIVISION
RSA Plaza - Suite 580
770 Washington Avenue
Montgomery, AL  36104   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-5324     Fax: 334-242-4993

Business Entity Contacts
Elaine Swearengin 
Division Director (Corp. Records Supervisor)
334-242-7221
Elaine.Swearengin@sos.alabama.gov
Domestic Entity Contacts
Lovetta Churchill 
Admin Support Asst III (Domestic Supervisor)
334-353-1931 
Lovetta.Churchill@sos.alabama.gov
Jim Brasher 
Admin Support Asst I (Domestic)
334-353-9859 
Jim.Brasher@sos.alabama.gov
MeMe Mulcahy 
Admin Support Asst I (Domestic)
334-353-7594
Ruby.Mulcahy@sos.alabama.gov
Brianna Smith 
Admin Support Asst I (Domestic)
334-353-9046
Brianna.Smith@sos.alabama.gov
Foreign Entity Contacts
Renae Barron 
Admin Support Asst III (Foreign Supervisor)
334-242-5328 
Renae.Barron@sos.alabama.gov
Monica Messer
Administrative Support Assistant I (Foreign)
334-242-7209 
Monica.Messer@sos.alabama.gov
Tamara Moore 
Admin Support Asst II (Foreign)
334-353-7593 
Tamara.Moore@sos.alabama.gov
Mail/Registry
Stephanie Keithahn
Admin Support Asst III
(Mail/Registry Supervisor)
334-242-5913 
Stephanie.Keithahn@sos.alabama.gov
Christina Vandiver 
Administrative Support Assistant I (Mail/Registry)
334-353-0223
Christina.Vandiver@sos.alabama.gov
Melissa Giddens 
Clerk (Mail Distribution & Imaging)
334-353-8410 
Melissa.Giddens@sos.alabama.gov
Diane Starks
Administrative Support Assistant I (Receptionist/Registry)
334-353-1146 
Diane.Starks@sos.alabama.gov

UCC Contacts
RSA Plaza - Suite 580
770 Washington Avenue
Montgomery, AL  36130  Directions »
Phone: 334-353-0203

Beth Hall
Division Director (Admin Support Asst III)
334-242-5970 
Margaret.Hall@sos.alabama.gov
Elizabeth Jensen
Asst. Division Director
Admin Support Asst II (UCC)
334-242-7213 
Beth.Jensen@sos.alabama.gov
Shirleen Moncrief
Admin Support Asst I (UCC)
334-353-9987 
Shirleen.Moncrief@sos.alabama.gov
Alfreda Watts
Admin Support Asst I (UCC)
334-353-1213 
Alfreda.Watts@sos.alabama.gov
Sharranda Emerson
Admin Support Asst I (UCC)
334-353-0203 
Sharranda.Emerson@sos.alabama.gov

 

Tracking Pixel