Skip to main content

Contact Us

Our agency would like to hear from you. For information regarding the Secretary of State’s Office, please contact one of the Agency divisions listed below, or one of the offices of the Secretary of State.


Alabama Secretary of State
P.O. Box 5616
Montgomery, Alabama 36103-5616


View the full organizational chart

EXECUTIVE DIVISION
State Capitol Building - Suite S-105
600 Dexter Avenue   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-7200     Fax: 334-242-4993

The Honorable John H. Merrill
Secretary of State
334-242-7200
John.Merrill@sos.alabama.gov
David A. Z. Brewer
Chief of Staff
334-242-7207
David.Brewer@sos.alabama.gov
John C. Bennett
Deputy Chief of Staff/ Director of Communications
334-242-4133
John.Bennett@sos.alabama.gov
Stacey K. Waller-Dakwa
Executive Assistant/Scheduler
334-242-7223
Stacey.Dakwa@sos.alabama.gov
Janice McDonald
Special Assistant
334-353-7854
Janice.McDonald@sos.alabama.gov
Jean W. Brown
Counsel for Elections and Administrative Affairs
334-242-7202
Jean.Brown@sos.alabama.gov
Brent Beal
Counsel for Legislative and Governmental Affairs
334-353-7857
Brent.Beal@sos.alabama.gov
Stephanie Vaught
Office Manager
334-353-2171
Stephanie.Vaught@sos.alabama.gov
Bernard McCaster
Warehouse Manager 
334-265-7150
Bernard.McCaster@sos.alabama.gov
Brittany Hamilton
Elections Analyst
334-242-7205
Brittany.Hamilton@sos.alabama.gov
Ashley Smith
Clerical Aide
334-353-7818
Ashley.Smith@sos.alabama.gov

FINANCE DIVISION
State Capitol Building - Suite E-205
600 Dexter Avenue   Directions »
Phone: 334-353-2022     Fax: 334-242-2444

Renee' S. Reese, CPM
Division Director
334-353-2022
Renee.Reese@sos.alabama.gov

Tamara S. Cofield
Assistant to Finance Division

334-242-7228
Tamara.Cofield@sos.alabama.gov

ELECTIONS DIVISION
State Capitol Building - Suite E-208
600 Dexter Avenue   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-7210     Fax: 334-242-2444

Ed Packard
Division Director
334-242-4845
Ed.Packard@sos.alabama.gov
Clay Helms
Asst. Director / Supervisor of Voter Registration
334-353-7177
Clay.Helms@sos.alabama.gov
Daniel Dean
Elections Analyst
334-353-7150
Daniel.Dean@sos.alabama.gov
Eugenia Stone
Elections Analyst
334-353-7903
Eugenia.Stone@sos.alabama.gov

INFORMATION SYSTEMS DIVISION
Alabama State House - Suite 125
11 South Union Street   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-7222     Fax: 334-353-4418

Anthony Powell
Division Director
334-353-1566
Anthony.Powell@sos.alabama.gov
Adam Alexander
Programmer / Analyst
334-242-7536
Adam.Alexander@sos.alabama.gov

GOVERNMENT SUPPORT / AUTHENTICATIONS & TRADEMARKS
(Acts / Athlete Agents / Codes / Research Division)
Alabama State House - Suite 226
11 South Union Street  Directions »
Phone: 334-242-7224     Fax: 334-353-8993
Sport.Code@sos.alabama.gov

Shemekwa Farrow
Division Director
334-242-7224
Shemekwa.Farrow@sos.alabama.gov
Karie Wilkerson
Assistant Division Director
334-353-7747
Karie.Wilkerson@sos.alabama.gov
Judy Pickler
Admin Support Asst. II
334-353-7473
Judy.Pickler@sos.alabama.gov

BUSINESS SERVICES DIVISION
Alabama State House - Suite 119
11 South Union Street   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-5324     Fax: 334-240-3138

Business Entity Contacts
Elaine Swearengin 
Business Entities Director
334-242-7221
Elaine.Swearengin@sos.alabama.gov
Christina Vandiver 
Administrative Support Assistant I
334-353-1146 
Christina.Vandiver@sos.alabama.gov
Monica Messer
Administrative Support Assistant I
334-242-7209 
Monica.Messer@sos.alabama.gov
Catherine Gray 
Administrative Support Assistant I
334-353-7594 
Catherine.Gray@sos.alabama.gov
Diane Starks 
Administrative Support Assistant I
334-353-0223
Diane.Starks@sos.alabama.gov
Jim Brasher 
Data / Scanning
334-353-9859 
Jim.Brasher@sos.alabama.gov
Melissa Giddens 
Mail Distribution & Imaging
334-353-8410 
Melissa.Giddens@sos.alabama.gov
Domestic Entity Contacts
Lovetta Churchill 
Domestic Entity Filing Supervisor
334-353-1931 
Lovetta.Churchill@sos.alabama.gov
MeMe Mulcahy 
Domestic Entity Filings
334-353-9046 
Ruby.Mulcahy@sos.alabama.gov
Foreign Entity Contacts
Renae Barron 
Foreign Entity Filing Supervisor
334-242-5328 
Renae.Barron@sos.alabama.gov
Stephanie Keithahn 
Foreign Entity Filings 
& BE Mail Processing
334-242-7209 
Stephanie.Keithahn@sos.alabama.gov
Tamara Moore 
Foreign Entity Filings
334-353-7593 
Tamara.Moore@sos.alabama.gov

UCC Contacts
Alabama State House - Suite 219
11 South Union Street  Directions »

Beth Hall 
UCC Filings & Searches
334-353-9987 
Margaret.Hall@sos.alabama.gov
Beth Jensen 
UCC Searches & Filings
334-242-5970 
Beth.Jensen@sos.alabama.gov
Alfreda Watts 
Data Entry
334-353-1213 
Alfreda.Watts@sos.alabama.gov