Skip to main content

Contact Us

Our agency would like to hear from you. For information regarding the Secretary of State’s Office, please contact one of the Agency divisions listed below, or one of the offices of the Secretary of State.


Alabama Secretary of State
P.O. Box 5616
Montgomery, Alabama 36103-5616


View the full organizational chart

EXECUTIVE DIVISION
State Capitol Building - Suite S-105
600 Dexter Avenue   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-7200     Fax: 334-242-4993

The Honorable John H. Merrill
Secretary of State
334-242-7200
John.Merrill@sos.alabama.gov
David A. Z. Brewer
Chief of Staff
334-242-7207
David.Brewer@sos.alabama.gov
John C. Bennett
Deputy Chief of Staff/ Director of Communications
334-242-4133
John.Bennett@sos.alabama.gov
Janice McDonald
Special Assistant
334-353-7854
Janice.McDonald@sos.alabama.gov
Brent Beal
Deputy Attorney General
334-353-7857
Brent.Beal@sos.alabama.gov
Stephanie Vaught
Executive Assistant/Scheduler
334-353-2171
Stephanie.Vaught@sos.alabama.gov
Bernard McCaster
Warehouse Manager 
334-265-7150
Bernard.McCaster@sos.alabama.gov
Brittany Hamilton
Elections Analyst
334-242-7205
Brittany.Hamilton@sos.alabama.gov

FINANCE DIVISION
State Capitol Building - Suite E-205
600 Dexter Avenue   Directions »
Phone: 334-353-2022     Fax: 334-242-2444

Renee' S. Reese (Senior Accountant)
Division Director
334-353-2022
Renee.Reese@sos.alabama.gov

Tamara S. Cofield
Assistant to Finance Division

334-242-7228
Tamara.Cofield@sos.alabama.gov

ELECTIONS DIVISION
State Capitol Building - Suite E-208
600 Dexter Avenue   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-7210     Fax: 334-242-2444

Clay Helms
Asst. Director / Supervisor of Voter Registration
334-353-7177
Clay.Helms@sos.alabama.gov
Rachel Jarrett
Asst. to Asst. Director / Supervisor of Voter Registration
334-242-7559
Rachel.Jarrett@sos.alabama.gov
Ed Packard
Administrator of Elections
334-242-4845
Ed.Packard@sos.alabama.gov
Daniel Dean
Elections Analyst
334-353-7150
Daniel.Dean@sos.alabama.gov
Eugenia Stone
Elections Analyst
334-353-7903
Eugenia.Stone@sos.alabama.gov
Denine Richey
Elections Analyst
334-242-0447
Denine.Richey@sos.alabama.gov

INFORMATION SYSTEMS DIVISION
Alabama State House - Suite 125
11 South Union Street   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-7222     Fax: 334-353-4418

Ronnie Morgan
Division Director (IT Systems Specialist)
334-242-5811
Ronnie.Morgan@sos.alabama.gov
Anthony Powell
IT Systems Specialist
334-353-1566
Anthony.Powell@sos.alabama.gov
Adam Alexander
Programmer / Analyst
334-242-7536
Adam.Alexander@sos.alabama.gov

GOVERNMENT SUPPORT / AUTHENTICATIONS & TRADEMARKS
(Acts / Athlete Agents / Codes / Research Division)
Alabama State House - Suite 226
11 South Union Street  Directions »
Phone: 334-242-5325     Fax: 334-353-8993
Sport.Code@sos.alabama.gov

Shemekwa Farrow
Division Director (Dept. Program Manager)
334-242-7224
Shemekwa.Farrow@sos.alabama.gov
Karie Wilkerson
Assistant Division Director (Admin Support Asst III)
334-353-7747
Karie.Wilkerson@sos.alabama.gov
Judy Pickler
Admin Support Asst. II
334-353-7473
Judy.Pickler@sos.alabama.gov

BUSINESS SERVICES DIVISION
Alabama State House - Suite 119
11 South Union Street   Directions »
Phone: 334-242-5324     Fax: 334-240-3138

Business Entity Contacts
Elaine Swearengin 
Division Director (Corp. Records Supervisor)
334-242-7221
Elaine.Swearengin@sos.alabama.gov
Diane Starks 
Administrative Support Assistant I (Director's Assistant)
334-353-1146 
Diane.Starks@sos.alabama.gov
Monica Messer
Administrative Support Assistant I (Domestic)
334-242-7209 
Monica.Messer@sos.alabama.gov
Catherine Gray 
Administrative Support Assistant I (Domestic)
334-353-7594 
Catherine.Gray@sos.alabama.gov
Christina Vandiver 
Administrative Support Assistant I (Mail/Registry)
334-353-0223
Christina.Vandiver@sos.alabama.gov
Jim Brasher 
Admin Support Asst I (Domestic)
334-353-9859 
Jim.Brasher@sos.alabama.gov
Melissa Giddens 
Clerk (Mail Distribution & Imaging)
334-353-8410 
Melissa.Giddens@sos.alabama.gov
Domestic Entity Contacts
Lovetta Churchill 
Admin Support Asst III (Domestic Supervisor)
334-353-1931 
Lovetta.Churchill@sos.alabama.gov
MeMe Mulcahy 
Admin Support Asst I (Domestic)
334-353-9046 
Ruby.Mulcahy@sos.alabama.gov
Foreign Entity Contacts
Renae Barron 
Admin Support Asst III (Foreign Supervisor)
334-242-5328 
Renae.Barron@sos.alabama.gov
Stephanie Keithahn 
Admin Support Asst II (Foreign)
334-242-5913 
Stephanie.Keithahn@sos.alabama.gov
Tamara Moore 
Admin Support Asst I (Foreign)
334-353-7593 
Tamara.Moore@sos.alabama.gov

UCC Contacts
Alabama State House - Suite 219
11 South Union Street  Directions »

Beth Hall 
Division Director (Admin Support Asst III)
334-242-5970 
Margaret.Hall@sos.alabama.gov
Beth Jensen 
Admin Support Asst I (UCC)
334-242-7213 
Beth.Jensen@sos.alabama.gov
Shirleen Moncrief 
Admin Support Asst I (UCC)
334-353-0203 
Shirleen.Moncrief@sos.alabama.gov
Alfreda Watts 
Admin Support Asst I (UCC)
334-353-1213 
Alfreda.Watts@sos.alabama.gov

Ashley Smith 
Clerk (UCC)

334-353-7818
Ashley.Smith@sos.alabama.gov