ALABAMA FAIR BALLOT COMMISSION JUNE 20, 2024

ALABAMA STATE CAPITOL SUITE S-203 (OLD ARCHIVES ROOM) 600 DEXTER AVENUE MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA

Commissioners present were:

Chairman Patrick Moody, Deputy Commissioner of Agriculture and Industries, and on behalf of Commissioner Pate

Vice Chairman Jimmy Entrekin

Ms. Sarah Telofski, Deputy General Counsel for the Governor, and on behalf of Governor Ivey

Mr. Mike Jones, Jr., General Counsel for the Secretary of State, and on behalf of Secretary of State Allen

Mr. Jess Skaggs, Chief of Staff for the Lt. Governor, and on behalf of Lt. Governor Ainsworth

Mr. Andrew Westcott, General Counsel for the Speaker of the Alabama House of Representatives, and on behalf of Speaker Ledbetter

Ms. Renee Gentle Powers

Mr. Jordan Plaster

Mr. Stanley F. Gray

Mr. Anthony Windom

Ms. Tiffanie Agee

Commissioners absent were:

Ms. Caleigh M. Hart

Mr. Brannon Denning

Mr. Steve Dunn

Mr. Myles Mayberry

Ms. Mary Margaret Carroll

Ms. Katherine Robertson

The Honorable Bob Fincher, Member, Alabama House of Representatives

The Honorable Arnold Mooney, Member, Alabama House of Representatives

The Honorable Juandalynn Givan, Member, Alabama House of Representatives

The Honorable Tom Butler, Member, Alabama State Senate

The Honorable Chris Elliott, Member, Alabama State Senate

The Honorable Linda Coleman-Madison, Member, Alabama State Senate

WELCOME

Chairman Moody called to order the meeting at 10:05 a.m. and welcomed everyone.

INVOCATION & PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Commissioner Skaggs gave the invocation and led the Commission in the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States of America.

ROLL CALL & ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF QUORUM

Chairman Moody directed Laney Rawls to call the roll. Laney Rawls called the roll and advised Chairman Moody that a quorum was present. With a quorum in attendance, the Commission transacted the following business, to-wit:

ACKNOWLEDGMENT OF NOTIFICATION OF MEETING PURSUANT TO THE ALABAMA OPEN MEETINGS ACT

Commissioner Jones informed the Commission that today's meeting was posted on the Alabama Open Meetings Act website, compliant with applicable law, on June 10, 2024.

REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES FROM THE DECEMBER 5, 2023 MEETING

Chairman Moody asked the members if they had any changes to the December 5, 2023 meeting minutes at which time no Commissioners voiced any revisions. Chairman Moody asked for a motion to approve the minutes.

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER SKAGGS, SECONDED BY COMMISSIONER PLASTER, TO APPROVE THE DECEMBER 5, 2023 MINUTES OF THE ALABAMA FAIR BALLOT COMMISSION.

Ayes: 11 Commissioners: Chairman Patrick Moody, Vice Chairman Entrekin,

Sarah Telofski, Mike Jones, Jr., Jess Skaggs, Andrew Westcott, Renee Gentle Powers, Jordan Plaster, Stanley Gray, Anthony Windom, Tiffanie Agee

No: 0 Commissioners: (None) Abstain: 0 Commissioners: (None)

MOTION PASSED.

<u>DISCUSSION AND PREPARATION OF THE BALLOT STATEMENT FOR THE</u> <u>PROPOSED CONSTITUTION OF ALABAMA OF 2022</u>

Chairman Moody opened the discussion by explaining the history of "sixteenth section lands" to educate the Commission on the background of the proposed constitutional amendment. Commissioners discussed revisions. After discussion, a motion was made to approve the final ballot statement as follows:

In the 1800's, Congress granted each township in the state certain land designated as "sixteenth section lands" and "indemnity lands" for the benefit of schools. Money earned from these lands is dedicated to the support and maintenance of the public schools in the state.

Currently, the Franklin County School System owns some sixteenth section lands and indemnity lands that are located in Fayette County and Walker County.

This amendment will transfer ownership rights of those lands to the Franklin County Board of Education. Upon approval, the amendment will provide that any money earned from the lease or sale of the lands or its natural resources will be paid to the Franklin County Board of Education.

Money currently held in trust by the State of Alabama prior to the approval of this amendment will continue to be held in trust and any money earned from those transactions will continue to be paid to the Franklin County Board of Education.

If the majority of voters vote "yes" on Amendment 1, the Alabama Constitution will be changed.

If the majority of voters vote "no" on Amendment 1, the Alabama Constitution will not be changed.

There are no costs or taxes related to Amendment 1.

The Constitutional authority for passage of Amendment 1 is set forth in accordance with Sections 284, 285 and 287 of the Constitution of Alabama. These sections outline the method a constitutional amendment may be put to the people of the State for a vote.

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER SKAGGS, SECONDED BY COMMISSIONER GRAY, TO APPROVE THE FINAL BALLOT STATEMENT FOR PROPOSED CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT 1.

Ayes: 11 Commissioners: Chairman Patrick Moody, Vice Chairman Entrekin,

Sarah Telofski, Mike Jones, Jr., Jess Skaggs, Andrew Westcott, Renee Gentle Powers, Jordan Plaster, Stanley Gray, Anthony Windom, Tiffanie Agee

No: 0 Commissioners: (None) Abstain: 0 Commissioners: (None)

MOTION PASSED.

DISCUSSION ON VENUES TO INFORM THE PUBLIC OF THE BALLOT STATEMENT

Chairman Moody directed Commissioner Jones to provide an update on how the public will be informed of today's approved ballot statement. Commissioner Jones stated that Secretary of State Allen will work with the state's ballot production vendor to place the approved ballot statement on all of Alabama's sample ballots which will be available in paper form throughout Alabama and online at the Alabama Secretary of State's website. Commissioner Jones also noted the success of the publication of the proposed ballot statement from the Primary Election and the intention of the Secretary of State's office to handle the publication of this proposed ballot statement in the same manner.

ADJOURNMENT

With no other further business coming before the Commission, Chairman Moody asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:25 a.m.

MOTION BY COMMISSIONER SKAGGS, SECONDED BY COMMISSIONER ENTREKIN, TO ADJOURN THE JUNE 20, 2024 MEETING OF THE ALABAMA FAIR BALLOT COMMISSION.

Ayes: 11 Commissioners: Chairman Patrick Moody, Vice Chairman Entrekin,

Sarah Telofski, Mike Jones, Jr., Jess Skaggs, Andrew

Westcott, Renee Gentle Powers, Jordan Plaster, Stanley Gray, Anthony Windom, Tiffanie Agee

No: 0 Commissioners: (None)
Abstain: 0 Commissioners: (None)

MOTION PASSED.

APPROVED:

Chairman Patrick Moody